Three Amigos

Okay, so in honor of my third day of blogging (mind you at 10:42… I’m not blaming you for the late hour… but seriously) I am going to give you three books. One I’ve read in the past, the one I’m currently reading and the book I plan on reading after this.

1.) I have read Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani, which is probably in my top five favorite books. I don’t think it has any sort of literary honors, but it’s a feel good read. I feel a kinship with the main character Ave Maria and for some reason I am certain when they make this book into a movie, which is inevitable, Harry Connick Jr will be playing the love interest… you heard it here first.

2.) I am reading The Paris Wife, recommended to me by Heather who I trust knows my taste… and yet she recommended this book to me anyways. This book is on the first wife of Ernest Hemingway and their roller coaster marraige. I have never knowingly read a book where I know it will end in a way that might break my heart… but I guess this is just a part of growing up and the writing is good.

3.) After TPW, (or if I’m feeling especially voracious, I just might read them both at the same time) I plan on reading The Hobbit by your pal and mine (okay, fine… he’s my pal by association) J.R.R. Tolkien. I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to read one of his books. Reading Science-Fantasy-esque type novels are the only way for me to completely not be terrified of the genre in its entirety. It could be because I made the mistake of watching LOTR before reading the books and the images of uruk hai coming up from the ground have been irreversibly burned into my memory. I’d like to think when I conjure up mythical creatures, they are a lot friendlier than Peter Jackson’s.

So… there you go. Day 3 complete with 58 minutes to spare. Boo to the ya.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

