A look back on 2009

1.)    In 2009, I started to do the kid’s program at Blue Sky and without doubt, this has been one of the highlights of the year. I love those kids and have learned so much about God and myself. When Catherine grabs my hand to hold, I am immediately reminded of how much God loves his children.

2.)    This year our small group multiplied out of Sam’s group and I was very nervous about the outcome. Would people come? Would it be as fun? Will it be all girls and Mark? Yes, people have come, yes, it’s been fun, and it is indeed all girls with the exception of Mark and Brian. It’s funny how I always worry that God is going to forget the details. An elephant never forgets, and God created elephants.  

3.)     I can now say that I have been a vegetarian and survived! At the end of the day, I love meat and will never do it again, health willing. Poultry aside, I was a bit shocked with the lovin’ I received from so many friends including one friend in particular who made a facebook support group on my behalf. I’ve never loved my friends or bacon more than in the month of September.

4.)     It was a very exciting year in sports for me. I went to my very first Sounders game (epic, see previous blog) and witnessed Ken Griffey hit his 300th homerun with the Mariners. I went to six Mariners games this year which is more than all previous years combined. There is something about booing or cheering with thousands of people who all have garlic fry breath that make you feel like you are part of something bigger… especially if that something bigger is a grand slam hit by Ichiro with a full count and bases loaded(I witnessed this too).

5.)    I went to my very first church conference at Vine Church in Carbondale, IL. It was there where God told me to let go of grad school and just follow Him. It’s been harder than I imagined, but at the end of the day, God is good.

6.)     When I first started going to Blue Sky, I always told myself I would never move in with the church folk… well, here I am living with Blue Sky people and I absolutely love it.

7.)    In late January, my dad was admitted to the hospital for having multiple minor strokes. It’s been very hard on my family’s heart to watch him change throughout the year. However, my mother always said in times of trouble, that’s when you need to look around and see who is still there. There certainly aren’t as many that were at his 60th birthday party, but the few that are there are invaluable to our family.  A special shout out to Char Price. Char, I don’t think you will ever know how valuable your friendship is to my mom. I am so thankful for you and the kindred friendship you offer her.

8.)    This is a recent memory… well, it’s more of a happening I suppose you could say. I am currently reading “Passion and Purity” by Elisabeth Elliot and this book has changed my life. It’s changed the way I see love, discipline, following and of course God. Who knew a white elephant gift would change my life?

All in all, a very hard but good year. I feel I need to constantly thank God for everything He has done in my life and for what He’s doing everywhere.

My whole life is yours, I give it all, surrendered to your name and forever I will pray, Lord have your way, have your way.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

