Merry Christmas!

My top eight slightly random thoughts about Christmas-

8.) I have been to more Chirstmas parties this year than I think I have total for the past five years.  When I clean things out or throw them away,  I now think wait… should I save this for a white elephant gift exchange I might go to? Sad.

7.) I did all of my Christmas shopping on-line and will do it every Christmas from here on out. People told me it takes away from the holiday spirit, but on the contrary, I wasn’t bogged down with the stress of holiday shopping and having to fight tooth and nail with the old ladies in U Village for the last disabled parking spot. This year I was able to just relax.  

6.) When I was about 8, all I wanted for Christmas was a bean bag chair. My parents told me this would not be happening because of their futility and they were a waste of space.  * Christmas morning* On my way to the bathroom I was about to open the door when in the corner of my eye, I saw something rather large… Frozen in sheer delight I saw a bright blue bean bag chair with a perfect big red bow. To this day, that is still one of the highlights of my life. There is something special about really wanting something, thinking you will never have it, and then getting it.  

5.) Isn’t it amazing how much can change in a year? Thinking about the things God has done in me this past year blows me away.  I am very thankful for Blue Sky, especially for the friendships that have developed there.  Melanie, Emily, Christina, Anna, Lonna, Julie, Yuna, April, Jess, Fred, Gong… the list goes on and on. I am blessed by each of them. And of course I’m thankful for my bosom buddy Heather and her hubby Mark. She has seen me through my bizarre days and has loved me anyways.

4.) Snow would be okay…

3.) I am a very meticulous present wrapper. I get abnormally excited when I buy presents that come in a box so I can make the perfect fold. I spend a lot of time making sure the bow is just right and all of the angles are all at the same degree. It doesn’t bother me one bit that my handy work is admired for about 5 seconds and then clawed to shreds by Hank. Not one bit.

2.) I am at work on Christmas eve and normally I would be bah humbugging and boo hoo’ing, but it’s different this year. I work in the hematology/oncology clinic and have come to realize working on Christmas eve is something I should be thankful for, not something to gripe and moan about. Josh (name changed) is one of the patients I coordinate for and he’s 20 months and has Histiocytosis (a tumor form of cancer). He is from Alaska and has been at our hospital since he was four months. Four months. In the past 16 months, his transplant has failed and he has already relapsed. Josh’s father is still in Alaska and mom and Josh will be spending Christmas at the Ronald McDonald House. Jiselle is another one of our patients who has relapsed twice from leukemia and is not expected to make it through the new year. She is 18. Her story breaks my heart the most. It’s not fair that her prognosis is fatal and that her last Christmas will be the first of her adult life. The stories go on and on.  After talking with these moms and dads and blowing kisses to these kiddos, it’s impossible to be upset about working here on Christmas eve.  I can’t help but feel immensley grateful that I get to go home and embrace my my mom, my dad, Hank and Andrea (Chris and Holly are in Connecticut). I get to go to the candle light service and worship God and thank Him for everything. I get to live.

1.) For the first time ever, the number one reason I am excited about Christmas is knowing that we are celebrating Christ’s birth. It’s because of Him, I am free.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Merry Christmas!

  1. char price

    great message….can you pass me another tissue!!!

Leave a Reply

